About Hungary

Hungary lies between latitudes 45° and 49° N, and longitudes 16° and 23° E, in the center of Europe, in the Carpathian basin.

Government: parlementary republic
Capital: Budapest
Country code: H
Time zone: GMT+1 (winter), GMT+2 (summer)
Area: 93 036 km2
Population: 10 074 000 (2006)
Density: 108 /km2
Religions: catholic (66%), protestant (28%),others
Local currency: Hungarian forint
Official language: Hungarian
Bordered by: Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia,Croatia, Slovenia, Austria